PDA

View Full Version : July 09 Desert Trip - Unfortunately CANCELLED - See Last Post

Dave
16-09-08, 05:05 PM
At the AGM, a few of us started talking about a POSSIBLE Desert trip, mid next year. I wanted to get a post up early, as such a trip would take a bit of planning.

I'm interested, I loved my trip across the Simpson last year. Eddie was interested (an invaluable member for a trip like this with expert Jeep mechanical knowledge), also a new member in a Grand (who's name I can't remember - sorry)

Because I'm a school teacher, I would choose the July school holiday (11 to 26 July 09). Depending on how much time others have, and how far (distance and remote) people would want to go, destinations need discussing.

IF we go ahead, I would be happy to lead or at least participate. I would hope that we could get at least 4 Jeeps (or other vehicles???). Any actual 4WD Jeep could cross the Simpson (unless it RAINS) with adequate preparation, and it is a GREAT trip!

Would it be too early to start a serious discussion in November (sorry I will be at Cape York in October)?

Think about it, no one would regret a trip like this!

Dave

JPLyn
16-09-08, 06:42 PM
What a great proposition!! Just as FYI, Eddie doesnt do the internet, so you'll need to talk to him in person. Also why not take the lead? If you dont, noone will, so just put together some ideas and talk to folks in Nov and maybe publish in the magazine as well ? I hope the trip becomes a reality!

Dave
17-09-08, 05:13 PM
Yep, I'm happy to lead, and do organising, as long as we have some interest. Eddie actually spoke to me about it at the AGM, so I know he is interested. If we bring up the idea in November, then I will talk to the magazine folks as well.

Do you think the club would be able to help with any organising - specifically things like organising a satphone for emergencies? Anyway, that is all for future planning.

Thanks for the encouragement,
Dave!

JPLyn
17-09-08, 06:36 PM