PDA

View Full Version : lift for JK

TRBN8R
02-05-09, 09:03 AM
Hi all,
I am a newbie on the 4X4 scene. After my last trip with the club I want to lift my JK unlimited. Does any one have any idea how much lift you can legally get away with without getting a engineers certificate????

Thanks for ur advice
Mani

casey
02-05-09, 12:43 PM
You've got a few options...

If you just want to get the JK's low hanging belly off the ground quickly and cheaply, a 2" spacer lift will do it.

If you want a bit more travel and flex, a 2" spring and shock lift would be the way to go.

If you know you want to put bigger tyres on in the future, depending on what size tyres you want to get would determine how much lift you would need to fit them.

We knew we eventually wanted 35" (but they actually measure 34") mud tyres.. so instead of doing a little lift first and then spending more on another one later we stuck it out for a year (out skid pans are scratched to hell - but hey, thats what they're for) and then did both the new tyres and lift at once.

Bear in mind, the more you lift, the more components you need to change to allow for the new dimensions and angles of the suspension system.

As for engineers certificates.. AFAIK, you dont need one for just a suspension lift. I've never heard anyone in the club talk about them when lifting their jeep, and we've got plenty of Jeeps sitting on 4+ inches of lift, which is what you'd need to fit 37" tyres on a JK!

If you were doing a wholesale change to the vehicles design rather than just putting in upgraded components in then I think you would need to see an engineer.

Here is an excerpt from the RTA's guidelines - Vehicle Standard information 6, Rev 2.1, Nov 2007 - Guidelines for light vehicle modifications (available from: http://www.rta.nsw.gov.au/registration/downloads/vsi/vsi_dl1.html)

Do I need an engineering signatory for minor modifications?

Vehicle modifications fall into three distinct categories: