PDA

View Full Version : What's the best Dual Battery solution for TJ Wrangler?

Hunter
16-11-04, 01:16 PM
I am thinking about install the 2nd battery in my TJ, any one have good solution to share? Like what brand battery, which isolater, how to wire them out etc, I am a absolute newbie in this field. :|

chrispy
16-11-04, 02:15 PM
Hunter

I've used the Piranha DB-150S solid-state isolater on my vehicles with great success. It's totally automatic, and because it doesn't rely on you remembering to "switch" something over to charge the second battery (after your cranking batteryis fully charged) it's fool-proof.

It's very easy to install. One thick cable (labelled appropriately) goes to your cranking battery's positive terminal, the other cable goes to your secondary's positive. Two smaller wires go to both ground and a positive source somewhere (such as a spade connector on your wiper motor that's always energised).

The secondary battery is usually a deep-cycle affair (as opposed to a cranking battery like you car's main battery now) so that you can run fridges and lights off it all night and it won't mind being flattened.

Next day, when you start the car, the DB-150S will check to see if your cranking battery is up to charge, and if it isn't - it will chage that one first. If it is, it will then start to charge the deep-cycle for you until it's charged fully.

Simplicity itself.

Wooders
16-11-04, 05:38 PM
Once I've got the locations sorted I'll probably go Piranha isolator with a second Optima yellow top.....

Jaffas
16-11-04, 08:49 PM
Can someone explain to me the difference between red yellow and rainbow coloured Optimas??? Is it as simple as one is a cranking, one is deep cycle? or does it go further than that??? or is it a marketing thing???

Hunter
16-11-04, 09:00 PM
Thank u so much for ur detailed explain. Where do u put ur 2nd battery? I think it's much more easier in ur car :(