PDA

View Full Version : Anti-rust protection required necessary for new 2009 JK Wrangler 3.8L manual??

jeep jeep
29-01-10, 10:45 PM
Hi all,

Pardon my ignorance as i'm new to the jeep jeep 4wdriving scene

I have just bought my new jeep yesterday and just want to know if i would need some sort of anti-rust protection if i want to go hit the sand dunes (kurnell) asap probly this w/e or next if weather is good?

Appreciate your assistance

cheers my fellow Jeep Jeepers!

TRBN8R
30-01-10, 12:52 AM
Mate the best anti rust treatment is to wash it really well specially undercarriage after every wheeling trip. I had a cheap suzuki, and a TATA telcoline ute in india and they never rusted although driven on 4wd track like indian roads. My dad still has them and the suzuki is 15 years old and TATA is 11 years old and not spot of rust on them.

Just wash it and u will be right. Dont pay the dealer for rust treatment. He might be trying to scare you into buying it. My dealer offered to tint my windows for 1000 bucks when they come tinted from company itself.

Cheers and Happy Wheeling

Mani

reyzor
30-01-10, 08:53 AM
i like to give mine a wash before hand, then spray the under carrage with lanolin, then when i come home put the jeep on ramps and get really wet and dgiver her another wash, esspecially as Mani said the undercarrige, make sure you get into all the nooks and crannies,

glend
30-01-10, 09:02 AM
Spray on underbody coatings (and internal cavity coatings) do make a real mess that often makes working on a vehicle difficult (and there is always the posibility of the coating being damaged by sticks, rocks, etc).