PDA

View Full Version : LPG Cherokee 99' Sport

xtreem
25-07-10, 01:11 AM
G'day guys, I'm a newbie to this site and think its great.

Anyway I've got a nice cherokee sport from the good old days (99) and I've recently had an lpg system installed in it in the boot, (unfortunately) didn't have an option really instead of paying like another grand or so for an aftermarket petrol tank so the lpg tank can go underneath equalling a loss of litres to the petrol tank so the lpg tank can fit beside it.

I guess my question is - is there anyone out there that has a similar/same car as mine with lpg fitted and if there are any problems or things that need to be mentioned regarding using the dual fuel.
My tank is like what they call a "flat tank" consisting of 3 small tanks linked up together beside each other hence being flat and resulting in more boot space than the conventional single cylindrical (mega) tank which is roughly the same in litres to the flat tank but the flat tank allows for like a wooden board to be installed on top of it to that you have like an elevated boot/cargo area wher you can place stuff on top of the board while having still enough space. On the other hand the standard tank leaves you with only a quater of the boot space for cargo and no option for any stuff to be aced over it due to its cylindrical shape.
My lpg system is called "venturi" the standard basic type.

I got it fitted and installed by a legendary and trustworthy (very hard to find these days) mechanic - company called "new gas, gaseous technology" in taren point close to the shire (or aka sutherland for those out there who aren't hobbits or shireling folk ;)

Also wondering what he told me regarding the tank being roughly 80 litres but only 60 is useable - I'm not entirely sure about that coz I filled it up the other day and it only did 46 and I was forcing and begging it to go for more.